Senate recount tally: McMahon wins

By Kim Howard
Observer staff

The Chittenden County Senate race recount completed Tuesday shows Dennis McMahon garnered 29 more votes than Williston resident Tim Palmer in last month’s Democratic primary.

Palmer had requested the recount after the vote tally revealed a 25-vote margin. In the original tally, Palmer earned 3,471 votes compared with McMahon’s 3,496, giving McMahon the last spot on the Democratic slate for Chittenden County representation in the Senate. Each major party is allowed six candidates on the ballot for November’s general election; eight Democrats ran for that office in the primary.

The tally after the recount was 3,506-3,477.

“It is beyond debate that by a very small margin I was not nominated to be a candidate in the general election,” Palmer wrote in an emailed statement. “I trust the results because of the diligent and hard work of the staff of Chittenden County Superior Court and the immense and honest efforts of dozens of voters … who generously gave of their time to count each ballot cast.”

After the recount was finished, McMahon said he was glad it took place.

“If he had won, I certainly would have supported him,” McMahon said. “Now we have to go on to November. It will be a good five-week campaign.”

The other Democratic candidates for senators representing Chittenden County are Jim Condos, Ed Flanagan, Ginny Lyons, Hinda Miller and Doug Racine. The Republican slate will include Agnes Clift, J. Dennis Delaney, Chuck Furtado, Robert Sims, Diane Snelling, and John Stewart. No Independent candidates filed.