Living Green: Nominations sought for environmental award

Observer staff report

Green Mountain Power is seeking nominations for the 2015 GMP-Zetterstrom Environmental Award, named for famed osprey advocate Meeri Zetterstrom. The GMP-Zetterstrom Environmental Award is presented annually to the person, business, group or non-profit who has made a significant and lasting contribution to Vermont’s environment. The recipient is also awarded a $2,500 donation to the environmental cause of their choice.

 “The Zetterstrom Award has recognized some of Vermont’s leading environmental stewards and innovators,” GMP President and CEO Mary Powell said. “Its purpose is to recognize those who make a substantial and unique contribution to our environment, and to honor our friend Meeri’s legacy of vision and leadership.”

Zetterstrom, known to many Vermonters as Grandma Osprey, inspired a statewide public-private collaboration that restored ospreys in Vermont and ultimately led to the birds’ removal from the endangered species list.

Past Zetterstrom Award recipients include Sally Laughlin, a leading wildlife advocate and scientist whose work was instrumental in restoring three species of endangered birds in Vermont; Michael Smith, the founder of Rutland’s Pine Hill Park; Margaret Fowle, who led Vermont’s peregrine falcon restoration program; the Lake Champlain Committee, which works to protect and improve Lake Champlain; and Kelly Stettner, who founded the Black River Action Team in southern Vermont.

Nominations for the GMP-Zetterstrom Environmental Award are accepted through March 15, and the winner will be announced in the spring. The winner is chosen by a panel of GMP employees with responsibilities related to land management, resource protection, community relations and education, and environmental compliance.

The award is intended to support environmental protection and inspire Vermonters to continue the good work that is being done all across Vermont to protect our natural environment. Vermonters of any age may be nominated. For a nomination application and more information, visit