Archive

Homestead declaration deadline upcoming

Williston residents are reminded to file their Homestead Declaration (Form HS-122) by the April 17 deadline. The declaration can be filed with your Vermont Income Tax Return or electronically at any time.

For property tax purposes, a property is considered “nonresidential” until it is claimed as the owner’s “homestead.” A property owner must file a homestead declaration if the owner owns and occupies the property as his or her primary residence and is domiciled in Vermont.

Owners of homestead property acquired as of April 1 must file by the April 17 deadline. Late filing will be accepted through Oct. 15, but a late filing penalty may apply.

For those seeking a property tax adjustment, Form HI-144, the Household Income Schedule, must be completed to determine eligibility. Generally, household incomes of $141,000 or more do not receive an adjustment. The maximum property tax adjustment is $8,000.

Residents will not receive a property tax adjustment unless both a Form HS-122 (Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Claim) and a Form HI-144 (Household Income Schedule) are filed.

For more information, visit http://tax.vermont.gov/property-owners or contact the Vermont Department of Taxes at (802) 828-2865 or (866) 828-2865.