Academic Honors

Student scholars recognized

Five local students have been invited to apply to become U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Champlain Valley Union High School students Andrea Joseph of Williston, Jonathan Liebman of Williston, Conor Mcquiston of Williston and Carolyn P. Woodruff of Charlotte, along with Burlington High School student and St. George resident Monica Barker were named among 46 Vermont students on the list.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of the country’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

Scholars will be selected in April and recognized during National Recognition Weekend in June. Scholars receive an expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. to meet with government officials, educators, authors, musicians and scientists.

Students named to deans’ lists

The following Williston students were named to their college or university deans’ lists:

Emily Asch, Saint Michael’s College

Katherine E. Buxton, St. Lawrence University

Christopher Cozzalio, Johnson State College

Kristin E. Darby, Clarkson University

Emily Faraone, Roger Williams University

Adam Geffken, Saint Michael’s College

Julie Ho, Saint Michael’s College

Shelly Ho, Johnson State College

May Hoyt, Saint Michael’s College

Kelsey Jensen, Colgate University

Shelby Knudson, Saint Michael’s College

Kendal Kohlasch, Siena College

Elena L. McCormick, St. Lawrence University

Melanie Montbriand, Johnson State College (President’s list)

Jessica A. Novak, St. Lawrence University

Erin O’Brien, University of New Hampshire

Kiersten Olivetti, Johnson State College

Eric Robinson, Saint Michael’s College

Frederick Spencer, Johnson State College