July 22, 2018

Introducing the Champlain Valley School District

Champlain Valley School District cvsd

EDITOR’S NOTE: The Champlain Valley School Board offers this Q&A-style introduction to the Champlain Valley School District as it enters its first year governing local schools following the consolidation of the former Chittenden South Supervisory Union.

What is CVSD?

CVSD is the acronym for the Champlain Valley School District. CVSD is your newly consolidated school district that includes students from the towns of St. George, Williston, Charlotte, Hinesburg and Shelburne. Previously, each town managed its school district and all were voluntary members of the Chittenden South Supervisory Union.

As of July 1 this year, CSSU no longer exists.

Which schools are in the CVSD family?

CVSD is home to Williston Central School, Allen Brook School, Charlotte Central School, Hinesburg Community School, Shelburne Community School and Champlain Valley Union High School.

How many students and teachers does CVSD have?

We serve 3,948 students. CVSD is one of the largest districts in Vermont with 1,322 students in grades 9-12 and 2,626 students in grades K-8. CVSD employs 369 teachers. We have 39 new teachers this year.

What’s happening on the CVSD board?

The 12-director CVSD board consists of volunteers from each member town. Currently, the board chair is Dave Connery (Shelburne), and the vice chair is Colleen Mackinnon (Hinesburg).

The board meets the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in Room 160 at Champlain Valley Union High School (CVU). The first Tuesday meeting agenda is committee work: community connections, finances and human resources. The third Tuesday, a regular board meeting, includes a presentation and discussion of timely educational topics. The topics for the 2017-2018 school year focus on the social, emotional learning of our students.

All board meetings are open to the public, and we encourage you to visit. Board meetings are a great way to learn first-hand the workings of your school district.

You can always view the recorded version of the regular board meeting on RETN (Regional Educational Television Network).

The former CSSU had seven boards and 34 board members.

Who’s new?

We welcome three new principals, Jennifer Roth at Charlotte Central School, and Scott Sivo and Alison Celmer at Shelburne Community School, as well as two special education administrators, Cassandra Townshend and Peggy Sue Van Nostrand.

What communications changes can I expect now that CVSD is one district?

We have created a new website, which will not only be easier to use, but packed with updated information and timely tidbits about our schools. Please be patient with us while the site is still being fine-tuned. You will find our new website at cvsdvt.org.

Look for us. As we move forward, the board will be out and about in the community with information tables, articles and updates in local newspapers and online forums. You can expect a consistent effort from us to engage you, the community, our partners in progress.

– The CVSD Board of Directors

Speak Your Mind